aushost.blogg.se

Baked macaroni and cheese with milk and eggs
Baked macaroni and cheese with milk and eggs












baked macaroni and cheese with milk and eggs

baked macaroni and cheese with milk and eggs

Then when you pulse the chiles and cilantro together, you notice that the bright green color is pretty great. You smell the chiles as they char and think, oh, this is going to be good. I love the anticipation that builds when preparing this dish. Eggs that form a savory custard seemed a natural way to bind it all together. And then, I thought, what about corn tortillas? So, I chopped some up, along with the chiles and cilantro, for added texture and aroma. Comfort food in Texas means cheese and chiles and their creamy-zingy combination.

baked macaroni and cheese with milk and eggs

#Baked macaroni and cheese with milk and eggs mac

With mac and cheese as the goal, I thought of comfort and nostalgia. It’s the antithesis of what I do during the week, which is to stand behind a line and cook under pressure. On my night off, I like “cocktail food”: not weiners on toothpicks, but food I can prepare and then let simmer or bake for 40 minutes or so-long enough to relax and have a cocktail before dinner. Robert Del Grande makes a savory custard with a Tex-Mex kick Sparkling wine or Champagne is the perfect drink to accompany the dish since it counters the richness. So, as a main course, I recommend serving it with an arugula salad tossed with a straightforward vinaigrette. There’s no question that this combination of classic béchamel and bold mix of cheeses creates an over-the-top mac and cheese. I start with the traditional binder for classic mac and cheese: béchamel, or white sauce-really just a mixture of butter and flour into which you whisk hot milk and cook slowly until thickened. I like to use Maytag Blue, Gruyère, Monterey Jack, and Parmigiano Reggiano-cheeses that might not be traditional for macaroni and cheese but that I love for their robust flavor. This mac and cheese, a luxurious version of a traditional southern accompaniment for ham, is equally good as a main course with a simple salad. Each chef gave me a deliciously different take: Not only are the flavors different, but each version is bound and thickened with a different method: with a white sauce, with a savory custard, and with cream.īen Barker brings it together with a classic white sauce I asked three chefs to create their own favorite version of macaroni and cheese. I started fantasizing: Just how would a chef put his or her own special signature on this dish to make it deluxe? But the more I talked with chefs I know, the clearer it became that macaroni and cheese is exactly the kind of food that they like to cook for themselves, for family, and for friends on nights off. For a long time, I was reluctant (especially among my foodier friends) to admit how much I like to make macaroni and cheese.














Baked macaroni and cheese with milk and eggs